YOUNG BIRD OF PREY

I identify through my little bird book as young Sparrow Hawk.
We walk along the Weser, Piet Hein and I, and a rather large bird flies away from our left and lands in a tree behind us. For a second I hesitate but then I walk back slowly to have a look what kind of bird this is. I am really surprised since I never saw a bird of prey so near. How often they circle high above the Weser or the forests. Buzzards I believe.
The morning started as a waterdrops picture day. That sounds easy, just find a drop and take a picture. But I have some experience already and know more or less what to give a chance and what nor. The grasses with tiny drops on their seeds I found magical. Not knowing what magic I later in the day did encounter.
We saw an amazing number of molehills on our walk too.

My haiku:

Fly from branch to branch
The trees your home and hunting
Ground beware small ones

And the Yiddish proverb:

A bird is known ny his/her feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.