The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

A Mother’s Love

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Oof, banging your head does not help with a hangover situation.

Mary Doll and Victor were scheduled to come round for their weekly visit. As I had a headache and look like I have been punched, I attempted to cancel...

Me: Sorry, I’m going to have to cancel today. I fell last night and have a splitting headache and could do with a quiet afternoon.

Mary Doll: Ok. I made you some savoury muffins and I’ll have to drop them off today so we’ll just come anyway.

Epic fail.

I knew exactly how the afternoon was going to go. Historically, when Mary Doll is concerned, her way of expressing her compassion is to give you an absolute bollocking so I just braced myself for impact. The anticipated tirade included:

‘WHEN are you going to grow up?’
‘At your age, you should know better’
‘YOU are one of THOSE alcohol related injury statistics’
‘THIS IS NOT FUNNY’*

She was also holding me personally responsible for the financial strain that the NHS is under.

I am 45 years old and my mother is still telling me to grow up! Pointing out that I have never face planted before and don’t intend to make a hobby of it, didn’t cut much ice!

When I explained to The Mini Princesses what had happened. The Eldest Mini Princess likened me to ‘one of those Friday night eejits on that tv programme Ambulance’ and referred to me as ‘the special one’ for the rest of the day!

Personally, I think that this could be a good parenting move. No one wants to be like their parents. When The Mini Princesses rebel, it will be to drink tea in hipster cafes!

C

* In response to my explanation of ‘I was fine until the shots of Sambucca’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.