Life In Wales

By KarenC

Chew-Chew

This week is chocolate week in Brussels, and throughout the city there are demonstrations of how chocolates are made, guided tours of the chocolate museum, and numerous restaurants are participating with special chocolate dishes.

But the most impressive thing is this chocolate train on display at Midi Station - it's been awarded with the Guiness World Record for the World's longest chocolate structure being 33.6 meters long!

It was made by Andrew Farrugia from Malta in collaboration with KX Creations in Belgium, and used 1,285 kg of Belgian chocolate (6,432 pieces) and took 784 working hours. It was constructed in Malta and then transported to Brussels piece by piece, and as well as the train, he's made a chocolate grand piano which is also on display.

So after a morning of Sh'bam at the gym, and then my French lesson (both of which I haven't done in over 3 weeks!), I decided to drive into Brussels to have a look at the train as it's only there until the weekend. I'm really glad I did as it's absolutely fantastic. The smell of chocolate is amazing, and every carriage is extremely detailed which looks great if you take a closer look. You can see a video clip of it onYou Tube, and I've put a photo of the piano in my blipfolio.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.