Life In Wales

By KarenC

The End of the World

Well not quite, just the end of the UK!

We've had a great day exploring, leaving after breakfast and our first port of call was Godrevey Point to see the seal colony.  Luckily there were quite a few on the beach, although you can't get anywhere near them, you can only look down from the cliffs above, but it was wonderful to see them in their natural habitat.  Most were sleeping, but there were a few playful ones, two in particular that were play fighting, and some that ventured into the sea.

From there we went to St Michael's Mount and timed it so the causeway was open and we could walk across to the island, but before we did that, we sat and had a Cornish Pasty!  We've previously been to Mont St Michel in Brittany and this is almost the same, although there's not as much on the island here.  Being a National Trust property I was able to visit the castle free of charge, but Alan had to pay - it was worth it though.  While we were there we could see the weather changing and it started raining and was very blowy!  

Our final stop of the day was Lands End, which wasn't quite what we expected.  It was so touristy, and £6 to park, even though I just wanted a photo, but it was worth it to get today's blip.  It'sthe most Westerly point of England and really did feel like the end of the world!

Tonight has been a very relaxed evening at the apartment - after a few busy days it was nice not to do anything or go anywhere, and I'd brought a left over tagine  with us that I'd had in the freezer,  and as tonight is my last night before my SOBER challenge, I've enjoyed a few glasses of wine.  SOBER is in aid of Macmillan Cancer Care, but I'm not raising money it's just a personal challenge to not have an alcoholic drink throughout October - wish me luck!

Anyway, on that note, it's now 00.15 and it's 1st October, so I'm off to bed. Night night x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.