Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The BIG Market

Today was the BIG market. And so it was! It spread all over town. Not just food, but everything you could think of. JR and Sue headed off early. Though when I went, an hour later, they were only just arriving - they'd stopped off for coffee and croissants first.

I had a wander round the food stalls, which were the most interesting, though the others managed to buy a variety of items, including a painting, a nice top and scarves. They were delighted to find that the little bags they bought in Nîmes for €20 were €50 in the market!

We took our washing round to Sue's flat, as we don’t have a washing machine (a laverie just up the road), so that's a good job done. I went back to the flat and fiddled about, sweeping our little balcony which was knee deep in leaves (just chucked 'em over the wall) and I got a text to come for 'plat du jour' Chez Sue. Very nice too.

They've now gone off for a walk in the hills. I do admire (envy) their energy. I get so tired just walking around streets, let alone up and down hills. But I’m relaxing in Sue's posh flat, reading my Kindle, and so I should manage a visit to the square this evening. They spotted last night that on Mary's statue her heart lights up at night! I must see this.

EDIT: We went to the statue with the (alleged) bleeding heart - which wasn’t even of Mary - and it had a piece of red shiny wrapping paper on her chest. Not even lit up! They must have seen a vision! But I did see the photographic evidence. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.