Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Back blip - Scilly Isles.

Today we visited St Agnes. What a gorgeous little island and so up to date - I was able to order a vegan cheese toastie in the café. One of the group members bought a big slice of cake, put it on the table outside and then went back inside for something. As soon as he left the table, 6 little sparrows surrounded the cake and tucked into it. A cake and 6 sparrows, in a circle on a plate, would have made a great photo, but I had put the camera away.

Whilst on the island we saw common rosefinch, but despite the name they are not common in the UK at all. I got a good view of them, but they weren’t close enough for a photo using my lens. We also saw a yellow-browed warbler, but the sighting was so fleeting, I don’t think I am going to tick it off the bird list just yet.

The bird in the blip is a wheatear. Not a rare bird but I do like them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.