Tixall Gatehouse

On my way home from the farm shop in Great Heywood on Wednesday, I took a different road and drove past a building I’d never seen before.

Clearly Tudor and clearly genuine, I decided to go back, park up just off the road, take some photos against our blue sky, and then google it.

It’s Tixall Gatehouse, a Grade 1 listed building which is all that remains of Tixall Hall which was demolished in 1927.

It is well researched (and not only Wikipedia) and apparently it was added to the hall in 1580.

Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned in the gatehouse for two weeks in 1586. She was out riding from Chartley when she and her party were surprised by armed soldiers who took her to Tixall so that her rooms could be searched. Key evidence was unearthed which led Elizabeth to arrange for her to be sent to Fotheringhay Castle rather than returning to Chartley.

Apparently, as she was taken away from Tixall Gatehouse she spoke to some poor people at the gates. “I have nothing for you. I am a beggar as well as you. All is taken from me.”

The Landmark Trust bought the Gatehouse and had it repaired. It now provides accommodation for people on self-catering holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.