Back to Wightwick Manor

I don’t visit this National Trust property anywhere near often enough. In the two years since I last photographed the glorious autumn colours, they’ve turned the oldest part of the building into a delightful new art gallery.

I think it’s the dreadful Wolverhampton traffic and road works that put me off !

But I went over there today, lured by the prospect of sunshine. For the first hour, it was dry but deep, soaking dew. I took some shots, but when the sun came out from the gloom later, I made the most of the sparkling light and scrapped many of the early ones.

This view of the house, famous for William Morris, the Pre-Raphaelites and the Arts and Crafts movement, outshone the russet and red colours.

You can’t beat a bit of blue sky....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.