Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

At the park

We got up this morning to take the camera to the shop in Spartanburg to get it cleaned and then head over to Paris Mountain State Park.  I had hiked there with my ladies hiking group a few months back but Jerry had never been so we planned a little hike to get away from the tv and all the talking bobble heads.

The camera shop guy was the best..he opened the camera and said I see it!  WHAT!!!!   I have blown and used a swab and done all kinds of things to get the fuzz off the thing.  I did not see anything!   He quickly pulled off two little tiny pieces of fuzz with tweezers!!   WHAT!???   I told him I had old eyes and could not see close up even with a MAGNIFYING glass!   He and the other guy just smiled!   He did sell me a much better blower thing that can blow air but also can be used to suck up the fuzz and dirt so that it will not float around.   I got new lens caps for all my lenses since I had managed to lose all of them even with the little elastic holder thing on it.   Anyway, I had my camera back to normal and it did not cost me too much!  Money well spent.   

So on to the park after a quick stop at McDonalds for some picnic food to eat at the park.    It was a really wonderful day weatherwise!  

We ate by a beautiful lake and then walked the Brissy Ridge trail which loops around for almost two and a half miles.  We chose the trail head to the right of the parking area which took us through some great hardwood forests with lots of color.  Not too many people on this trail so we let the dog off leash for a while.    We walked a little over an hour on the first part which was the longer section..some flat areas, gentle inclines up and downhill, roots and rocks, sun and shade.  My kind of trail.   Then we came to the road and had to cross to continue the remainder of the trail.  Very soon we came to a sweet little creek, the dog had to walk in it and get a drink.  Then we started around the bend and up hill...and I mean UPHILL.  There were about 20 steps built into the hillside which was probably at 45 degrees incline!    We could really feel this in the hamstrings and knees!   Had to stop to breathe...where we were when two couples about our age came the other way.   We talked a few minutes about the trail as the guys had walked here many times they said.    The wives were not so thrilled when we told them the trail would be uphill soon..they said they would be glad to get over the rocks and roots. Yikes..that meant more rocks and roots ahead.   There were..and they were worse than the ones we had already encountered!  And the trail was mostly uphill the whole way back to the car!     But we made it back  with only about five stops for breathing and drinking water!   Feeling my heartbeat big time!     

I LOVED it!!   Not so sure about the hubby or the dog.  

The forest was full of color.  I wish had not used up all my extras.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.