Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Assault and battery

I probably will be charged for assault and battery with intent to remove these aphids from my butterfly weed which is still trying to be blooming!   The stalks are straggly and not looking great and there are no butterflies now but the bugs need to leave my yard.   I mixed up some dish soap and vinegar water..sprayed them and then cleaned off the stalks with my fingers..they have yellow blood!    Then I hosed off the stalks with water.   I may just cut the things down and hope that will help to keep them from eating.    On the internet it says they do not really damage the plants but they do keep the butterflies from laying eggs.

I am going to check the plants again tomorrow...six plants with two or three stalks each.  It is supposed to rain so hoping that will keep them off too.  

Not a good day for yellow aphids here.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.