Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Soup today

Today we have a really cool, sunny, cloudy, sunny cloudy, windy day!   So I decided it was good soup weather.     This is my soup,  a chicken dumpling soup with broccoli.  

I had some left over rotisserie chicken from the grocery store from Wednesday so I chopped it up ( had about two full cups), added four cups of chicken broth (one of those boxes from the store),  about a half cup of chopped celery and same amount of onion.  Brought this to a boil, then added a can of cream of chicken soup and about two cups of broccoli florets.  (Does that count as a flower for flower friday!?  Silly me!)    

Then the dumplings which are nothing but dough.  I can tell you that pie crust dough, bread dough and noodle dough defeats me every time.  So I had an idea.  I bought the already made store bought pie crusts so I could make a pumpkin pie.  (It's that time of year!)    Took one out of the package, cut it rolled up straight down the middle and then cut those long pieces about an inch thick.   Threw them in the pot with the chicken broth and other stuff bubbling.  Stirred it a couple of times.  Then turned off the heat.   I let it set there on the burner to keep hot while the "dumplings" puffed up.

Ya'll,  it is really really good!!!!  The pie crust dough is so light and fluffy that the broth did not get all starchy or gummy thick!    

I think I will be sprinkling a little grated Parmesan cheese on my bowl! 
Easiest pot of soup I ever made!    Next time I might add some peas and carrots instead of broccoli!  

Tomorrow is a hiking day with my ladies hiking group in the mountains of South Carolina at a new location for me!     Looking forward to hiking in the cooler air!   I might have to wear a coat as we are expecting our first frost tonight!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.