Enjoy the little things

Ben was happy that Aunty Ruth was here still this morning :) I think I heard Charley complain when he followed Ben in to their room because Ben and Ruth were up on Ben's high bunkbed and he couldn't get up there! He is going to be (going to be?! already is) a handful, thinking he can do everything Ben can, before he can really....

I woke up to an email saying I'd sold one of my painted cups to someone in California!! It's all ready for shipping now, I just need to get to the post office :) How exciting, though. And I emailed a craft boutique organiser yesterday who is looking forward to meeting me!

Didn't go to tots this morning because the boys were enjoying Aunty Ruth so much. They continued to enjoy having Ruth around (and I think she loved it too!) until midafternoon when Charley and I went to his heuristic play session and Steve and Ben walked Ruth off to the station home.

Charley found his metal cake slice again at his play session. Steve didn't mention it was a proper heavy decorated gorgeous silver plate one, a potential lethal weapon!! He watched other children, and eventually made his way to the centre of the room where he held court beating a paint tin with a wooden spoon :) that's Ben's brother right there lol!!

This evening my parents arrived back from London just in time for me to be able to walk to our 20's and 30's Source evening with Charley. And I was in such a rush that I simply walked out the door with just my purse, no changing bag or anything. Wondered all the way why he wasn't going back to sleep - to discover when we got there that he needed a serious nappy change! Thank goodness one of the other couples there have a baby around Charley's size and had a spare nappy with them!! He then spent the evening happily squeaking ("hypersonic" was one comment!) and wandering around trying to investigate fire extinguishers and plug sockets...

Back home, the kitchen smelled amazing from casserole slow-cooking in the oven and chicken stock simmering (that was the extent of my cooking today - Steve had to make bacon sandwiches for tea!) and Ben was fast asleep on the sofa, fully clothed - mum and dad didn't really stand a chance, he fell asleep while they were eating their own bacon sandwiches!

Happy days, but interesting times still. Steve finished his CV today and has been emailing it out, and I'm trying not to think about where it might take us (mainly because I'm happy here and can't bear the thought of uprooting). Aaaaahhhh. Deep breaths. This is a custom request mug, and has "enjoy the little things" drawn on it. Appropriate. Maybe I need to draw one for myself...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.