AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Meet Mildred...

managed to grab half an hour in Glasgow and wanted to get to George Square to see if I could get a patriotic picture of the Saltire flying over the City Chambers, for St Andrew's Day. As you can see there wasn't a breath of wind and the flag hung limply down the flagpole.

So I turned my attention to the ice rink and saw this wonderfully dressed lady skating smoothly around, and when she saw me taking her picture she skated over for a chat. Her name is Mildred, she is 78 years old and took up skating again after a 50 year break when they started to put the outdoor ice rink in George Square for the festive season. She makes all her own skating clothes and she told me she had a wonderful Stuart tartan outfit that she planned to wear today, but it was just too cold. She was perfectly turned out, from her own white skates to her mock leopardskin collar, hat and gloves and full make up, with red lipstick!!! She skates here often so if you are around George Square look out for her.

I was feeling a bit grumpy after a lot of driving and getting sort of lost, but Mildred was such a lovely lady with such joie de vivre that she cheered me up no end.

One of the things I promised myself when I sort of retired was that would learn to ice skate better. I can stay up and skate forwards, that's it. You will find when January comes round that I am a HUGE fan of Dancing on Ice - it is the only one of that type of programme I watch. Every year I promise myself I will book some lessons. Mildred has inspired me to try and get ahead and get some lessons booked for early next year. It is never too late.

Hope everyone has a great weekend. John home tonight at 9.30 so have to collect him at Edinburgh airport. at least I think he is coming home. I haven't heard from him since I dropped him off there last Saturday morning! He isn't exactly one of life's mobile users.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.