Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Successful shopping

I've been admiring blips of lights at night - light painting - and looking at YouTube videos, so this morning we set off to the end of town with lots of cheap shops. I did get some 'glow sticks' not too sure what they do, but they were £1 for 20, so even if they're useless it won't matter. We got all sorts of things - thick socks for boots, Christmas lights, de-icer for the car windscreen, at hat for JR, and some Aussie licorice which wasn't a silly price. So all good.

We availed ourselves of the luxury of a couple of stops down the road on the bus, and fought made our way through the bun fight that is the St James Centre. It was hoachin'. Not fun at all, but fun for the retailers. I overheard a man passing me saying to his companion. 'The next person who bumps into me I'll ...' and then I didn't hear the rest, but I suspect it wasn't a nice word.

We went to My Club, a nice quiet haven in the city. Except when there are people who TALK VERY LOUDLY. We could have had a demonstration on how to wrap Christmas presents, but we didn't.

I made my way home for the rugby, but could not go past the 'Winter Wonderland' in the afternoon sunshine. So many blipportunities!

I spent a wee while at this torture machine. I remember going on one of these many many moons ago and being rather ill afterwards. Look at that lad casually checking his phone. Probably tweeting 'I'm whizzing round at high speed on a chain!' Only not in a sentence. Or words, for that matter.

Back home for the rugby. What a shame, Wales. To be beaten in the last few seconds! That's tough. Will watch the AB's beating England later, as the England games are not free to view. For some annoying reason. Probably money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.