Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Modern Life

Had breakfast (toast, of course) while listening to the radio in New York and then New Zealand. Loving the new sound system.

Then we had a flurry of emptying boxes and putting things in cupboards. We are awaiting a kitchen cupboard type storage thingie, as we can’t unpack lots of larder stuff. There is so much I still can’t find: my spare SD cards, my back scratcher, my camera manual...

Another blue skied, balmy day. We’ve been here a month, and I think it has rained once. Can’t complain about the weather.

We went to the Dovecot to see the new exhibition. It was excellent. Lots of different art work by very talented people. I know it’s been done before, but I’ve chosen the magnificent weaving spiralling down the stairs, though I must admit, I took the lift.

I was tempted to take the bus home, having walked further than normal, but we walked on as the light was lovely. Then we spotted a ‘new’ (to us) restaurant Ting Thai Caravan. We popped in. Funky warehouse type decor, loud music, but not screechy. Well, there was one screechy track, and the waitress fast forwarded it for me. Delicious food served in wee cardboard boxes. Will certainly go there again. So tasty.

I’m not keen on hot food. We tried the Indian street food restaurant a week or so back, and got a variety of dishes, but it all tasted the same in the end - bloomin’ hot! I don’t see the point of have some nice chicken, fish or beef and covering it in a hot sauce which masks the flavour.

It’s like potato crisps. Why mask the lovely flavour of natural crisps with cheese and onion flavour or worse? I think I might be in the minority here…

I think it’s modern life. Everything has to be artificially flavoured. Everywhere has to have constant noise/muzak (even in an courtyard cafe in the middle of the countryside for goodness sake!). Everyone has to be texting/twittering/shouting on a cellphone.

Whoops. I got carried away there. Better get off that soapbox…

Now, was there some wine left to go with the second part of Borgen? Trouble with Borgen is that there are subtitles, which means I can’t blip at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.