Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All the Fun of the Fair

A leisurely start to the day, with the Sunday papers on the iPad. I know it's not the same - but at least it's there and I don't need to go out and get it. And it's the same news.

Read the rugger reports firsts. When I wrote yesterday about the ABs beating England, I did have a slight twinge that I might be tempting fate... And so it proved. Well done England - a great game. It's good to stir things up once in a while.

We decided to postpone the trip to the Gallery of Modern Art to see the Peploe exhibition, as we both said at the same time, 'And you can drop me in town.' JR to shop, and me to hang around the Winter Wonderland. And so Plan B was hatched. Both go into town, stop at a hostelry, then do our own thing, perhaps meeting up in the melee.

Tried a new (to us) establishment on the Mound. Very nice. And I do like the sound of the thrice-cooked chips. However, today we just had a drink. I had a beer. Mistake. This meant that in half an hour I would be desperate for the toilet. And so it proved.

However, a very nice place, although with rather loud music, it wasn't screechy at la Whitney Houston wannabes. But at one particularly bad one, I asked the waitress if they had any decent music. She told the (charming) barman who came over and explained that the sound track was sent by the company, but if they didn't like a song, they could 'blacklist' it. Excellent. I suggested I give him thumbs up or thumbs down for each track, and he cheerfully agreed, probably knowing that we'd paid the bill and wouldn't be hanging round much longer. But I am inclined to go there again.

I hung around the side shows and watched the skaters and listened to the screams of people on whizzing machinery. I do love (looking at) that big swing thing with the chairs on chains. I took loads of photos. I've deleted most of them. I liked this one of the wee kids on the wooshy seat. The wee girl at the end had decided that she didn't really want to be there, but the others were having a good time. I think it's all right to take photos of kids at these fairs - I wouldn't normally.

Bus was only 10 minutes late. I'm home early because the beer wanted out. Immediately.

There was a group of Spanish young folk on the bus, and they seemed to be having a very loud domestic argument across all the seats at the front of the bus. But every now and then they'd all laugh. I think they were just 'chatting' not arguing. Glad they don't live above me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.