Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Christmas decorations up!

OOoh! A wee bit of snow this morning! JR was happy to dive into her new boots, and set off in the dark with the new can of de-icer. I, on the other hand, accidentally drifted off to sleep while listening to Today, but it wasn't Today it was the 9am programme. I came to when they announced it was 'Women's Hour' (hate that name). 10 am! Whoops!

Monday! Skipping Pilates, therefore I have to go swimming. It's a bit cold to have to undress and get into a cossie... And is that a wee teensy slight headache, maybe going to eventuate into a big one? Best not go swimming today.

I got the Christmas lights out of storage. They're a long string of icicles that hang right along the lounge wall. But very strange. Every year I pack them away carefully, and when I get them out, they're always in an almighty tangle!! How is that? Putting them up involved quite a bit of huffing and puffing and moving furniture (though not hoovering behind it while it was out) and climbing the big ladder. But it's done.

I also wrote to Lothian Buses to enquire about the now you see it/now you don't bus that goes a different route to everyone else. They should know.

I had to go into town to buy some birthday cards and, sadly, a couple of In Sympathy cards. I managed this quite quickly. I then went to the PO to get the correct stamps for NZ, but the queue was a mile long. And if it's one thing I hate (well, one of many) it's standing in a queue for a stamp. Even two stamps.

I walked down to the Winter Wonderland. I'm drawn to it like the Festival - I might miss something. It was much easier to get around today, there not being the weekend throngs.

This is the one thing I'd go on - the horses. Nice and tame. But probably cost a fortune. The kids seem happy enough, although Dad looks like he's praying. Or else he's thinking '£4 each for two minutes of THIS?'

Actually, I don't know if it's £4. It is for the swinging chairs. This might be more!

I left my tripod at home today. I've been carrying it around on the offchance that I need it. And I often do. But I've almost taken folk's eyes out in crowded buses, and it's very hard to get through crowds, or even shops. It was easy peasy today- I had my monopod, though I didn't use it. But in the end, I just came home after the horses. I have things to do at home.

I might move furniture and hoover behind it. Or I might just watch the Killing again, as I never know who the folk are. And why are there so many empty, disused warehouse things that anyone can wander into in Denmark? That's asking for trouble, if you ask me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.