Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday treat

Uncle A's birthday today, and so I invited him out for lunch. The newly refurbished Caley Hotel? The Balmoral?

No - Dobbies Garden Centre. My largesse knows no bounds. He had soup and a cherry scone. I know how to treat a relative on a special occasion!

I had just finished my porridge when he rang, being somewhat tardy again in getting up. It really is a mistake to switch the blanket on in the morning, just for a minute or two...

On the way out of town, we stopped in at a Post Office that didn't have a long queue, so I got my cards to NZ posted. Not Christmas cards - I'm not that organised! I was shocked at the price of posting the cards, though. 50p to send second class in the UK!! You can buy a whole box of Charity Christmas cards for 50p! (I think).

We had a nice lunch at the Garden Centre, then a wander through the shops. Uncle A bought several books, and I bought a pair of those things to wear to stop you sliding on icy pavements, should I happen to be up and out while it's still frosty. Freuchie reminded me of them.

I went on into town when we returned from lunch and shopping. I tried to stay away from the Winter Wonderland. But the lights, the smells, the squeals, Rod Stewart blasting out, always draw me towards it. But I walked on through and took a few shots of the Old Town for a change. The lights under the glass roof of the station look lovely.

I am going swimming early tomorrow morning. I think Wednesday is the not so busy day. So NO electric blanket on. NO snoozing for an extra hour. Action!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.