Vittala Temple, Hampi, INDIA

There are 400+ temples in Hampi and surrounding areas, and today we visited some of them.  AW did his best in the heat and was glad to be back in the car after some two hours.  We rested as often as we could and the rests were really long.  To be honest, I was glad to rest, too.

We first visited the 'usual' first thing, which was the two Ganesh temples and the Virupaksha temple, as well as the Krishna temple and several smaller ones.  After two hours, back to the car and the driver asked us (me) what was next.  I told him I wanted to see the temple with the cart.  He didn't know what I meant until we turned a corner and there right in front of us was a hotel advertisement showing the cart.  He googled it and that is how we ended up in Kamalapura, a village next to Hampi but I suppose part of the municipality of Hampi, at the Vittala Temple complex, a most wonderful place.  Unfortunately, AW decided he needed more time to 'recover' from the previous walk and elected to stay with the driver and just wait for me.  I was gone for about an hour.  Walking to the complex already took at least 20 minutes.  Anyway, this is a shot of the 'cart', something I'd been dying to see for so long, ever since I started reading on the history of India.  The power of books!  There are a couple of extras, both taken at the same complex.

Back at the car, we were both ready to return to the hotel when the driver suggested one last stop, the Queen's Bath, which only needed a short visit anyway.  Sufficiently rested, AW went with me, and we both marveled at the size of the bath and wondered jokingly if it was possible to have something like that 'installed' in our garden ... haha!  Finally, we returned to the hotel to laze around in the room for the rest of the day till dinner.  There was even the chance to take some pictures of a small religious parade on the street, all shots taken from the fourth floor of our hotel as I was not inclined to go down and run after it.

Dinner was yummy!  I am beginning to order more spicy items but it's the soup that is the best -- lemon coriander vegetable soup.  We've both reached the age, though, when we can no longer eat everything on the plates ... haha!

We hope you (have) enjoyed the day with your loved ones!  We were together, AW fully recovered, and for us that was more than enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.