Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Call centre crowding

I had to go back to the old office today (network issues at the new site are causing some of my routines to take forever to run so being on the same network segment as the servers hosting the databases was a major advantage). We keep being told that the connections are being sorted but I simply ran out of time waiting.

So, I had a really enjoyable day with some of my wonderful old colleagues (Kate, Lousie and Tina) and I got far more achieved that I would have done back at (the new) base. No phones ringing, no inane conversations going on - bliss. A good solid days work.

I took a wander round to where my old desk was (well, still is technically - its still there) and found a collection of phones that IT have started to round up. Mine is the one right on the left edge with the spot on it - no idea why it had a spot, but it did. It must have been special.

I started my working life writing software to go into these things - well, not this actual design of phone but similar ones, (and also the exchange at the other end of the wire) and later also designing phones themselves. Seeing them redundant like this has, I'm sure, some kind of hidden message. :-(

Off to the German Market in Brum tomorrow - Say hi if you see a mad blipper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.