Thin ice

I didn't feel like a long run today so I headed out to do a little speed work and a jaunt on the hills.

I say a 'little' speed work and I really do mean it. I'm not very good at it and I hate it. But I know it'll make me a better runner so I do try. It's times like these that I see the benefits of joining a running club or even running with other people. I find it so hard to push myself. My body seems too programmed for distances; conserving energy for the long haul rather than speed.

I then headed out onto Arthur's Seat. It seemed like a good idea at the time, but when I got to the top of the ridge, it was rather blustery and looking down, it seemed quite icy. My sister will have a fit reading this, she keeps on reminding me that she doesn't want a bridesmaid with a cast on her leg!

It's amazing how quickly your body gets out of shape for proper hill running. I've really just been running the pavements for a couple of months now. Today sure did get my heart pumping!

I caught sight of this sign as I ran past St Margaret's Loch. As if anyone would actually try and walk on the ice? Hmm I suppose there are some idiots out there! You've really got to feel for the non-migratory birds at this time of the year though - must be a wee bit chilly on the water!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.