Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Easy money

No bike again this morning. Didnae have time.

I was to report at the hospital at 11am for more tests on my knees. Which meant leaving the house just after 10am, and I got back home about 2.30pm! So I missed Jordan this morning, who changed his day because he was away at the weekend. He was on Mull and he saw three sea eagles and two golden eagles! He was deliriously happy.

A young PhD student is conducting research into dodgy knees - though I don’t think that's the medical term. I was hooked up to lots of little electrode things with flashing lights, which sent signals to the computer and made lovely wee colourful graphs. I had to walk about, up and down steps, push as hard as I could on pedals and fill out questionnaires. She will then pass on my numbers to her boss, who will then recommend to the original consultant I saw what, if anything, can be done... But, they gave me £10 for my 'travel expenses'. I told her I have a bus pass, and it didn’t cost me anything, but she insisted. I think the university (who are funding the research) has more money than the NHS.

JR is demonstrating the only way to brush Archie's beard - get him in a headlock and do it quickly! When she is not attending to Archie's coiffure, JR is spending hours looking at kitchen lights online, trying to decide on new ones. Too much choice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.