Oban, Saturday

When we were last up here, just over four years ago, the Minx drove me a few miles out along the A85 and dropped me just east of Connel so that I could run back. I couldn't remember much about the run except that it was a nice cross-country route following a roughly tarmac'd track.

So I brought my running kit with me, this weekend, and we repeated the process. I'm a bit lighter and fitter than I was then and I found the run easier and, unsurprisingly, a lot more enjoyable, this time. From where the Minx dropped me, the track rises up and ends up going along right next to the train track until that peels off the left to take a wide approach into Oban. Just before we parted ways, I passed this very rustic level crossing. (You can just make out the track.)

While I was out running, the Minx went for some supplies and we arrived back at the AirBnB at the same time. I showered while she set up her painting stuff and then we had an enjoyably relaxed afternoon in the flat before going down in to Oban for an excellent dinner at the George Street Fish Restaurant.

PS The Minx's painting was amazing

****
No scales
Reading: I finished my second book of 2019, ‘This Naked Mind’ by Annie Grace. I found this an interesting read. As you might expect, it’s a little evangelical in places but it does make an interesting exploration of the reasons why we drink, which, Grace argues (quite convincingly), are to be found in our subconscious. I can imagine that if you had the desire to give up drinking completely, this book would be an excellent place not only to start but as a companion to be read from time to time. It’s certainly convinced me to drink by exception rather than by default and that has come from the parts of the book that talk about the subconscious motivations for drinking. Would recommend depending on how you feel about your drinking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.