Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Rainbow at Dusk

The sun must have been nearing the horizon when we saw this rainbow "in" our back garden. The low solar angle means that the bow is as wide as it is ever likely to be, and the contrast with the almost dark garden was an impressive sight.

In fact, the rainbow was already fading by the time I got my camera, and that had also happened earlier in the afternoon. I was originally going to submit this photograph for today's contribution. This picture is of the main road just outside our home. We were walking back from the bus stop with our shopping in what seemed like perfect sunshine. But then we felt rain, and I thought that the rain had to be behind, and the sun was facing into it. Sure enough, there was a brilliant rainbow. By the time I got my camera out, the rain was already dying down, and the rainbow was fading. I apologise for the lamp post in the shot! But by the time I had got beyond the obstruction, and took the next frame, the brilliance of the bow had almost gone.

Even at this earlier time, with the sun not so low as in my Blipfoto contribution, the arc was larger than the kind we expect in a summer storm. Here you see a continuation from the lamp post, and over some of our nearby houses, which will give some impression of the extent of the bow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.