Dishoom

I have to be in London all day tomorrow, which means that I had to travel down today. And having found a cheap first class ticket for a mid-morning train, I decided to make a day of it. 

I arrived in Euston around half twelve and walked over to St James's Square to have lunch with my brother's business partner, who sometimes puts a bit of work our way, although that was not the main reason for getting together; I just hadn't seen him in a while. 

After that, I walked back to my hotel on Argyle Street and did a little bit of work before walking up to KIng's Cross. Previously, I think I'd have gone and found a pub somewhere to do my email but the Annie Grace book is still fresh in my thoughts and I couldn't think why I wouldn't want to be sober when I met up with John and Ash, even if I was then going to have a drink. 

From the hotel I walked north of the station and up to Dishoom, where I was meeting my chums (the trees in the photo were on the piazza around the corner). I enjoyed a Dishoom ale at the bar where John and Ash joined me and we had a cracking evening, including some excellent food. I was mindful of the drinking, too, and much as I think Annie Grace would disagree with me, I genuinely enjoyed it. 

****
-11.2 kgs
Reading: 'Middle England' by Jonathan Coe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.