MADONNA!

The very first large gig I went to was at Wembley Arena for The Cure's tour supporting their 'Disintegration' album. It was also the first gig I left before the end; the experience was totally pointless as I could barely see a thing and I could hear the people near me singing along more clearly than I could hear the band. 

Over the years, I have ended up at other large gigs and with only one or two exceptions - Peter Gabriel and Bruce Springsteen (Seeger tour), both, I think at the MEN - they have been desultory experiences. These days, I try to avoid them (so, sadly, I doubt I will see Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds play live again, now that they are an established big venue kind of band).

In her younger days, the Minx was a huge Madonna fan, and there's a lot of lingering love there, but it never occurred to me that the two of us might see Madonna live. She is, after all, a big venue kinda gal. But then, last year, she announced a tour of small venues, including the London Palladium. 

Let us gloss over the ticket prices and focus on the positive: Madonna in a small venue! Over the last few months, the Minx has avidly been watching the footage of rehearsals that has been released via Instagram and also been worrying about the concerts cancelled due to health problems (Madonna's hip, apparently). Indeed, Monday's show was cancelled, upping the anxiety to peak levels. 

However, all seemed to be OK for tonight's show and thus we proceeded to the Palladium via Frith Street for some dinner at Lobos (would recommend). Part of the reason that there has only been rehearsal footage on Instagram is that no photography of the show is allowed. On arrival, phones have to be put into bags that are then locked for the duration of the show. 

And what a show it was! More theatre than gig, with a dash of 'An Audience With...' thrown in, you would have been disappointed if you'd gone along hoping to hear all the hits. Instead, there was a lavishly staged show, revolving primarily around Madonna as an artist, focussing on a role as an outsider and a 'disturber', although it did later morph into something resembling a musical scrapbook of her recent experience living in Portugal and embrace of Fado music. 

But above all, it was incredibly inventive and creative, certainly the most theatrical gig that I've ever been, too. And speaking as someone who's not a particular fan of Madonna, I enjoyed the show from start to finish, even if I felt it slowed a little around the Fado section, and Madonna herself was funny and charming.

The main think for me, though, was that the Minx enjoyed the show: I'd have been gutted if she'd been disappointed by it. But I don't think she was was, in fact she seemed absolutely delighted and that would have been enough for me even if I hadn't enjoyed the show. But I did!

****
-11.6 kgs
Reading: 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.