Point of reference

I fancied trying a new route today but I wasn't entirely sure that I wouldn't get lost once I was on the ground and not looking at a map. The Minx, with characteristic supportiveness, offered to drive me 'round it, as far as was possible - one section was on the canal and a later part was off-road - and so in the early afternoon, we set off. 

It's always daunting driving the route of a longer run; it seems a lot longer from the car than when you come to run it. As I tried to remain unfazed and reassure myself that it was no further than I usually run on a Sunday, the Minx gave a running commentary: "That's the pub where my dad used to take me for a drink when I was pregnant... I've never known what that chimney was for, it's in the middle of nowhere... that's where Susan lives ("Susan who?" "Susan from work." "Ah.")... there's a lot more people on this road now they've built the new houses." It was nice; relaxing and calming, part of being easy in one another's company. 

Just after three, we were back at base and I changed into my running stuff and promptly set off (I needed two hours to run and still had to do the radio show). Up Harpers Lane, along Eaves Lane, then down onto the canal near Botany Bay. I ran along the towpath, passing David Lloyd on the other side, past the fork with the river and reached a bridge. It looked a bit like the one where I was supposed to turn off...

But surely this was only the second bridge and I wanted the third one? Or maybe I'd confused a lock with a bridge on the map. I looked around seeking inspiration, and there, some way along the canal, I could see the Minx's chimney. Hooray! I carried on along the towpath, coming off at the next bridge and carried on, safely on my way*.

*I nearly got lost twice more.

****
No scales
Reading: 'Middle England' by Jonathan Coe.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.