Brockholes

It's weird how your mind and body can work against you, isn't it?

This morning, I'd been invited to speak on a panel at an event taking place at Brockholes, near Preston. I didn't have to learn or prepare anything, I was just required to speak from my own experience, so there was nothing really to worry about. It did mean an early start, though, as I had to be there for eight, so I had to rely on Dan and Abi to get themselves up (which they did!).

At the event, I was taking part in the second panel but sat in the audience to watch the first one. I could feel myself getting more and more nervy about the experience, even though the chap chairing was pleasant and everything was very easy going. It felt like I had to much adrenaline rushing around my body and my breathing seemed very shallow, so I forced myself to take some long deep breaths and that calmed me right down.

And the panel session was fine. The seminar thing I went to in Manchester last week happened to be on a similar topic so I was able to appear quite knowledgeable :-)

****
-12.0 kgs
Reading: 'Middle England' by Jonathan Coe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.