More boaring

I had another 'procedure' at the dentist, yesterday, involving another dose of the sedative, although it seems to have been a smaller or milder dose than last time. I did sleep most of the afternoon all the same but felt pretty much 100% by the evening so I was able to go across to school to see the Cabaret evening. And I was particularly pleased that I could as the musical director for the evening was... Dan! 

The last few weeks have been uncommonly stressful for him as he has endeavoured to score up all of the tunes that people had chosen to sing, setting arrangement for the band he has recruited from his peers. Thus, I'm very pleased to report that the evening went really well and finished with a stunning version of 'Feeling Good'. 

After that I went down to the Royal with some friends plus the Minx, which was fab even though I am off both alcohol AND exercise for the next two weeks. (The Minx's view was that I was not 100% but possibly 90.)

I slept soundly enough and spent the day in the office, today, apart from going onto Kendal to pick up Abi's new and hopefully final retainer. 

I used to be involved with an organisation called Kendal Futures but I was obliged to leave the board when we (my company) resigned from the Chamber of Commerce. But as a result of my time doing that, I know there are some people working very hard to make Kendal a more attractive place for tourism. (Unfortunately, their efforts are largely stymied by people who support the principle but hate any change.)

So I wasn't entirely surprised to see this sign in a planter along the main road. I like it, actually; a little splash of local history and even a half-decent joke at the end.

****
-10.4 kgs
Reading: 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.