#4 The Money Store - Death Grips

Album: The Money Store
Artist: Death Grips

One line synopsis: A kick in the balls for hip-hop; angry, scratchy and psychotic.

Best Track: I've Seen Footage

---------------------------------

Two things I've learned this morning

1. Taking interesting photos of CDs whilst on the train is tricky (thanks to my colleague 'The Champ' for falling asleep and providing a suitable backdrop).
2. Death Grips between the hours of 5:40am and 7:40am is not a sensible listening choice. It's just an angry man shouting over noise? Is it really my 4th best album of the year? I'm thinking this might be the token controversial entry.

My relationship with hip-hop is failing. This year has seen the release of some acclaimed albums - Kendrick Laamar, Aesop Rock, El-P, Killer Mike but for some reason I'm not all that compelled to check them out. Perhaps I'm getting old or perhaps my listening habits don't lend themselves to the rap genre. I'm going to kick myself into shape and get back on the rhyme train in 2013, watch this space.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them - Grizzly Bear, Andy Stott and Scott Walker spring to mind
* full countdown tagged nstop102012
* click through to see last year's top 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.