#3 Tramp - Sharon Van Etten

Album: Tramp
Artist: Sharon Van Etten

One line synopsis: Beautiful, melancholic, swoonsome alternative anthems.

Best Track: Give Out

---------------------------------

An album that couldn't be any different from yesterday, this one is positively soporific in comparison. Ever since I heard Give Out on the wireless I've been hooked to Sharon's beautiful tunes, in fact I was convinced that this album would be holding the coveted number one slot this year, until I changed my mind (several times). I'd say this is the album that you should dive into if you're unfamiliar with the majority of the artists on this list.

The skyline across London was stunning this morning, just waiting to be blipped. The rest of the day was spent in long (and occasionally productive) meetings. I'm now ensuring that the journey home is a laugh a minute, something an hour long delay can only contribute towards.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them - Grizzly Bear, Andy Stott and Scott Walker spring to mind
* full countdown tagged nstop102012
* click through to see last year's top 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.