Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Beer with a view

Archie had a wonderful day - two of his pals came to take him out, Isobel in the morning, and Becky in the afternoon! And what a glorious day for it!

I popped up to the doctor to complain about my breathlessness, which is now evident in the slightest of exertions eg walking to the doctor's surgery. A blood test was done, off for an x-ray, and see them again next week. It's a wee detective puzzle - they have to rule out various things.

And so I went off (on a roundabout route) to have my x-ray. First of all, I had an ice cream at a newly refurbished Italian cafe/restaurant. Then I popped over the road to the National Library to see the 'Scotland after the War' exhibition. But the best part wasn’t even in that exhibition - it was a display of all the winning entries in the 2018 Bookbinding Competition. Absolutely beautiful entries from all over Europe.

I then walked down Victoria Street in the sunshine. I had to force myself to keep on walking as I passed the wonderful fish and chip restaurant we tried the other day...

But I didn’t keep on walking past the newly opened bar/restaurant in the Grassmarket. I'd seen a photo on Instagram, so I knew there was a roof garden, with a view of castle. And pretty good it is too. The two restaurants are gorgeous, one with a huge tiled pizza oven, with windows all along one wall showing the brewery part. Fantastic.

I walked staggered up the Very Long, Very Steep Miss Jean Brodie Steps, popped in to the x-ray department, before strolling home through the Meadows, which were just gorgeous.

When I came home, the builders had gone, but I really didn’t see a huge amount done, just a hole in the outside wall for the new extractor fan, but I’m sure there was other stuff.

8,098 steps! No wonder I’m puggled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.