lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Ducks ....

I've been looking for the ducks and they are finally starting to return. The ring-neck is one of my favorites, I really like his design. There were a fair number of buffleheads too but I've only seen one teal so far. 

There is a beaver family in the ponds and it's just astounding to see what they are doing to the little trees in the wetland. There's one area where there are so many pointy stumps left (about 2-4 inches in diameter and 1-2 feet tall), that it looks like the stakes in a pit designed to kill big game (I've only seen such things in the movies). 

I noticed that the park people are planting lots of new tree-lings inside wire cages. Perhaps the trees that the beavers are taking down are not native and it's ok in the end... But they are going to run out of building materials at some point. They are really voracious.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.