lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

I spent the morning downtown at a chapter meeting of Lean In Seattle. You may have heard of Sheryl Sandberg and her book Lean In which she wrote maybe 6 years ago. I read it when it came out and thought it had some interesting ideas but I wasn't flabbergasted by it. However, as a result of the book, the Lean In organization was born and women started creating and joining "circles" to get support - something that was badly needed.

I met a few women recently who were members and so I decided to attend an event. I didn't find a circle represented there that I wanted to join but I did find one on the website for "Over 50" and I just applied to join that one. Seattle has the largest and most diverse Lean In chapter in the world. 

The other activity of the morning was a training on 50 ways to beat bias in the workplace. Bias is hard to beat given that it has been necessary to our evolution as a species. Requires a great deal of being actively conscious of what your brain is telling you and remembering not to believe everything you think.

Son (pictured) and the Mr and I had lunch at The Fiddler - just down the road from our house. I liked the beer glass and thought my son looked a bit buddha-inscrutable-ish, staring out the window (extra) into the sunny courtyard.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.