Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

No prizes for guessing where I am!

A very early rise and a taxi booked for 4.15am to the airport. Easy journey all the way to Cairo and had 4 hours in Rome airport, which I used productively to revise my input timetable and write a veeeeery long to do list. It was good to have an empty seat next to me on the plane, then a meet and greet to help with my bags and visa. Traffic bad as usual but the car was very comfortable, dry clean and had aircon. I arrived at around 7.00pm at the flat in Dokki and that was with landing at 5.10pm local time, one hour ahead of Barcelona.

I've caught up with my flatmate/colleague, unpacked, hung up my clothes etc, made up the bed and started to make up our room, e,g. get our rugs out of our locked cupboard, lamps in place, Ramadan cloths covering various things and adding colour. I actually think it was the fastest set up of the basic things in our room yet. Our big locked cupboard is still stuffed with our things though and that might be left for Bb when arrives.

You know you've arrived in Cairo when your meter and greeter at the airport has his own private stash of visa stickers, one of which you can buy from him for the standard price of 25 euros and skip the queue, and the customs officer, after asking me what was in my big suitcase (clothes, toiletries, work papers. I didn't mention the cheese or Cadbury’s flake ) then asks for a discount on courses in the British Council!

Blip is from the car on the way into Dokki.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.