Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Where were you today?

Mystic Em said she wanted to be able to tell her children that she was on the march today. And she had never been on a demo before.

It certainly felt momentous. I was up at 6.30 am making placards, and was quite pleased with this Star Wars themed poke at the prime minister’s pomposity.

I struggled all day with my head cold but we grabbed something to eat and met S&B for a drink before coming home which was nice. Shattered by 8pm but glad to have been part of a protest that even if it changes nothing puts you on the right side of the argument. I did the anti-Iraq war demo in 2003 which was on a par with this one in terms of size and which I look back on as an important voice for sanity in insane times.

As well as sheer size the diversity of today’s crowd was impressive. All ages, sexes, colours, levels of ability ... that in itself spoke volumes for the belief behind the cause. Unlike Farage’s pathetic little gaggle of mostly sad old white males, who are looking for someone to blame for - what exactly? They still can’t articulate it, or what they would put in its place even three years on from the corrupt and racist referendum of 2016.

Anyway it was a good day and we were part of something important. I’m not optimistic about the weeks, months and years ahead - but I was there today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.