Questions

You know what? I may never actually finish my novel or record that album* but I do love art. Or, more accurately, I love the creative process. One of my favourite things is reading those 'How we made...' articles in The Guardian and I very much sympathise with those artists that, having created something, like to move on; it's in the doing that's stimulating.

To be honest, these questions that I saw painted on a staircase in the Royal Northern College of Music, today, don't really interest me. (Of course originality exists and therefore there are ideas and creations that, lacking clear and direct precedent, are original.) But there are lots of other questions and topics like this that I do very much enjoy discussing. 

Which makes it all the more frustrating that we spend so much time and money fruitlessly discussing far less interesting questions: should we leave the EU? Obviously not. Should we be doing something about climate change? YES. How are these dumb questions absorbing us when they have such obvious answers and there are so many more interesting topics to consider? 

Such as, in an age of increasing automation and a consequent decline in jobs that actually need doing, what will the society of the future look like? Is there any good reason why we can't simply provide for everybody? (Answer: no)

ANYWAY... I was at the RNCM today with Dan who was playing an audition. It's rare I see the little fella at all nervous but he was a little preoccupied beforehand. I think it all went pretty well, though. Certainly he was relaxed and chatty when we went for some lunch afterwards.

*currently a concept piece around the sinking of the Titanic, which takes a surreal turn as the dead return to life beneath the waves

****
-12.3 kgs
(Not) reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.