Parker's Arms

The Parker's Arms' descent has been in direct contrast to the rise of the rest of Chorley. While most aspects of this cracking little market town seems to get better and better, the pub has gone from bad to worse.

In the six years since I first met the Minx, I have only been in there once, at the start of a Chorley pub crawl. I can't say we enjoyed a particularly warm reception but then maybe we - Simon, the Minx, and I - weren't actually welcome. (It was as if we made ourselves at home in someone else's living room.)

I don't think its decline is part of the wider malaise that affects pubs nationally, which seems to be largely down to the Breweries, I just reckon it's a long time since it has had a decent landlord. 

And now it appears to be game over, unless some is going to buy it to restore as a pub. I reckon it's got potential!

****
-11.5 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.