Gitama's World

By Gitama

Snacking On the Pony Tail Flower

A couple of weeks ago I noticed a spike coming out of the top of my pony tail tree. I had never seen anything like it before. Everyday it grew larger and larger until it puffed open with little creamy balls on the end of each branch thingo.
I had to google it.......apparently it only flowers after about 30 years......the females have pink flowers.

Anyway it’s all puffed out now and has a most fabulous and heady fragrance...but the best thing of all it is full of bees (and other various insects having a munch).
Like I said I have never seen one before but it seems that every Pony Tail tree in our area are also flowering...they look awesome...however away and down the road a bit there are no flowering ones at all....go figure.
It was pretty hard posting this in mono...but after playing around with it for a bit i really started to like it.

“Bees do have a smell, you know, and if they don't they should, for their feet are dusted with spices from a million flowers.”
― Ray Bradbury

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.