Cake. And more cake

Ahead of my mother’s birthday on Monday we had a family gathering for lunch today. My brother and his wife drove up from near Reading. Their sons flew up as did a girlfriend. And our daughter and her partner arrived from Lancaster, dog in tow to join my wife son and I.

The weather was sunny and, behind glass, lovely but the east wind was bitting.

Did not divert us from a lovely lunch at Dirleton then back to mum’s home at North Berwick. Fizz, tea and a choice of 3 cakes, one of them gluten free: made by my sister-in-law. All excellent (well, we had to try them all!)

A bracing walk on the beach to work off some of the indulgence then back for more chat.

Time flew and we had to leave before my mother’s own baking and decoration appeared for after the evening meal. Prepared by her own fair hand: not bad going as she turns 99 on
Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.