Our office

In 1995, I went for a drink with my friend, Nigel, who told me all about the Internet. My God, as a young man who grew up on Arthur C Clarke and Isaac Asimov, I couldn't have been more excited. A couple of years later, I set up a hobby company to build websites and seven years after that, it became my proper, full-time job.

Our first office was in the old K Shoes canteen. It was quite nice, actually; two rooms over two floors, plus a shower so I could go running at lunchtime. While we were there, the landlord showed my around the old factory floor, which he'd yet to convert. It had only closed a few years before and everything appeared to be just as it would have been left on that final day. 

A few months later, he'd completed the conversion, splitting the factory space into three. I loved it and we moved into one of the thirds. Maybe it's odd to like the space where you work quite so much but I do.

Recently, my friend Judy, whom I met when I first moved up here nearly thirty years ago, designed and supervised the building of the 'pod' that you can see in the picture, which completes the office for me. 

I was here after hours, tonight, waiting for the carpet cleaners to arrive. The office looked amazing (and even better after they'd finished).

****
-11.0 kgs
Reading: 'Refining Sound' by Brian K Shepard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.