Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Good Friday Rowing

Yay, The first long weekend of the next few weeks, I only one normal 2 day weekend between now and June, and one 5 day week. It looks nice and hot, but there is a cool wind. Jumper is required.

In the morning I was planning to do some bike riding. However, the hedge needs trimming, it wasn't done at all last year. Unfortunately, I cut through the cable (the first time in over 20 years). Fortunately I have a battery operated trimmer, which does the job just as well. It's a bit awkward as it operates as a branch lopper as well.

Its a relaxing morning coffee, which we have outside.

Then I spend time looking for a new bird feeder that takes nuts, which I order from the RSPB online shop as this is where I bought the seed feeder. The seed feeder has been very good value for money, surviving squirrel attacks. I also replace the cat flap. The old one suffered after an unexpected visitor entered the house a few years ago, and broke it as the visitor left the house while it was set to In-Only.

After lunch, my partner and I head down to Portobello. Warm in the sunshine, but it is verty breezy, especially on the promenade. Walk down to Joppa. As we do, a boat, (a gig?) is being launched from the beach (Main Blip). The waves are a bit large near the shore, so the move slowly initially. We eat an ice-cream (a 99 of course). At the Joppa end of the prom, we notice a sign glued to the wall, with a pencil sharpener. (Extra)  At the far end, I find a pound coin. Then its back to the centre of Portobello for coffee and franzpan tart with fruit.

A nice relaxing afternoon. A great way to start the long weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.