Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Steep Ascent

A cool, although warmer than Saturday, and sunny day. A nice local bike ride to Midlothian in the morning. The only time I didn't have a headwind was heading west passing Gladhouse and on the Falla Toll road to the A703.So a headwind to Kaimes and Lasswade Rd, a headwind through Laswade, Bonnyrigg and Carrington. A headwind on the Middleton loop. the it was ok as I head west to Gladhouse Reservoir and on to the Falla Toll road to the A703, and on the climb up to Shiplaw. Once past Shiplaw, the road turns north, so a headwind to Whim, and from there to home. Lovely blue skies throughout the whole ride.

The ride, and a photo across Gladhouse Reservoir, can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon, my partner and I walk up to Swanston again. Just through the village I take a photo of people taking the the steep route up to Caerketton Hill, just west of the Craigs. Then we take take the path down to Lothiaburn. Extra shows a peacock butterfly on a track sheltered from the cool easterly wind. It is much much better condition than the one I blipped on the 18th April.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.