Sjolmet Coo

A fine winter's day!  Some great sunny spells, but mixed with wintery showers.  A cold wind.  You'd think it's January, not the end of May!  I was thinking it would be starting to warm up on my return from holiday, how wrong was I! 

It's been a busy day in the museum.  There was a cruise ship in Lerwick, and with the cold day, they swamped us.  I headed to the peat hill this evening, and friend Julie came with Keba.  Keba and Sammy have worn themselves out chasing rabbits.  Peats have been drying great while away  and I managed to raise a few tonight.  I'll need a right night to crack at.  We saw a Kestrel on the way there.  Off to work in the pub later. 

Off down to feed Puss in Boots at lunchtime, and it was dry south over.  As I was heading to mam's, this muckle sjolmet cow (dark brown, with a white head) was out in the field with her calf.  She was fairly standoffish, and very protective of her baby, so it was just a quick snap and left them in peace.  Taken at North Voxter, Cunningsburgh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.