From Victoria Bridge Street

In 2000, I spent six months working for JP Morgan in Glasgow. In retrospect, this contract was memorable for two reasons: firstly, it was my introduction to Starbucks and takeaway coffee, which probably diminished my take home pay by about a hundred pounds a week and left me spending every afternoon feeling giddy and slightly nauseous.

And secondly, it introduced me to three friends, all of whom I have stayed in contact with, on and off, ever since. Only one of them, Ian, lives in the north-west, though, and it is him that I see most often. We meet in the Northern Quarter for a late lunch every couple of months or so. Often, we are joined later on by Simon and one or two of my daughters, which is exactly what happened today. It was a perfectly lovely late afternoon/early evening.

After that I walked back to Salford Crescent (to get my steps in) and it was as I was crossing Victoria Bridge that I saw this lovely view along the Irwell towards Blackfriars Street.

****
-12.0 kgs
Reading: 'How Art Made Pop And Pop Became Art' by Mike Roberts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.