Raindrops keep falling on my steps

At the start of 2017, I was the heaviest I've even been and I decided - as I had done fairly regularly, previously - that I needed to lose some weight. About three stone, in fact. And the mechanism I chose to keep myself on track was to publish my weight loss on here, every day.

And it worked! Because after four months I'd lost just a handful of pounds but where as previously I might have given up, this time, through sheer embarrassment, I redoubled my efforts. And between May and October I lost pretty much two stone. 

The biggest difference to my lifestyle was that during that period I walked ten thousand steps (about five miles) pretty much every day. For the last eighteen months I've wanted to lose that last stone but it has proven elusive, probably because I am pretty content with how I look and so a large part of the incentive has gone. 

However, my BMI is still over 25 plus I have promised myself that I will lose that weight before I attempt another marathon, which I would really like to do but only if I was weighing in at 86 kilos. So, in addition to my other exercise, I have returned to the steps. 

I was nearly four thousand steps short, this evening, so having ferried Dan to a friend's house, who would give him a lift on to Westmorland Youth Orchestra, and given Abi some dinner, I set off to get in those last two miles. 

It was pretty miserable, to be honest. Not a hard rain but a constant drizzle. Here I am in the churchyard, probably about halfway 'round, following a couple with an umbrella. 

****
-11.8 kgs
Reading: 'How Art Made Pop And Pop Became Art' by Mike Roberts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.