2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

It's only a drop of water

"Pitch inspection at 9am" was the text I received last night.

With heavy rain waking us up through night the result of the inspection was inevitable.

It's only a drop of water, compared to Sir Tom Finney in 1956 :)

So I told Mrs. P I could get the shopping for her: I would pop along to the ground to see the inspection then go.

I was interested to see the procedure the local referee goes through so I've learned something new today.

It has to be a referee that makes the decision. Even though a photo similar to this was tweeted at 8.30, it can only be a referee who makes the decision. You'd have thought with technology these days a photo emailed to The league would save time and expense all round.

Anyway, the referee put his boots on and went to walk on the pitch.

To his credit he did walk 3 yards onto the pitch, but he only needed less than a minute to make the decision.

Then he had to make calls to the match officials to explain his decision.

Meanwhile the club officials were trying to get hold of anyone they could from our opponents to let them know the game was off and not to travel.

It was interesting to see the amount of work that goes in to call a game off; almost as much as putting it on

So with no football I've painted the bedroom ceiling in preparation for new wardrobes being fitted.

This afternoon I have planned tomorrow's blip. Planning a blip is not a regular occurrence but I'll make an excdeption tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.