2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Legendary status

If you do anything to a reasonable standard it is common to look at those at the top for guidance, inspiration and knowledge.

So when I started measuring road races I looked at the masters and how they went about their task.

I had heard of the reputation of Harry Smith and decided early in my measuring career if I could get anywhere near his standards I'd do alright.

Soon after I became the area secretary for The North of England, Harry retired. I could hardly refuse his decision: he is in his eighties and had been measuring for over thirty years.
Harry has done his bit for course measurement at the highest level.

The certificates we produce for road races today are produced electronically but I have an original measurement certificate that Harry produced on beautiful paper in the most wonderful calligraphy. It may well have taken as long to write the certificate as it did to measure the race, such is the precision of the certificate.

It was an honour to finally meet a legend of course measurement at The Ribble Valley 10k race this morning.
Harry and I have a common interest here because he measured the original course and I measured the current course.

Also at the race was the running legend, Dr. Ron Hill. Ron was almost my subject because he is a wonderful role model and inspiration.
But Harry takes this one on the line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.