Serendipity

For the last few weeks, with increasing regularity, I have mentioned to Dan the need for him to sort out something to wear to prom. Unfortunately, and much like me, he finds it hard to focus when a deadline is still on the far horizon. And so here we are: prom on Thursday and the boy with nothing to wear. 

Thus, I took the afternoon off and arranged to meet Dan in Preston. I'd come up from Chorley, and he could catch the bus and train from Kirkby Lonsdale. It worked out remarkably well and I was walking towards his platform just as he was coming off it. 

I have to say that I wasn't looking forward to this shopping expedition. We had the pressure of having to find something and I feared we'd end up buying a suit from Next and he'd attend prom looking like he was arriving at his first day at work. 

The Minx had suggested we try H&M but there is a TK Maxx right next to the station so I said to Dan that we might start there. He was agreeable but, it must be said, not wildly enthusiastic. This, I thought, was going to be a looong afternoon. 

In TK Maxx we found the Men's section and the suit rail. There was one that immediately caught my eye. I liked the colour and pattern, plus it appeared to be tonic material. I lifted the hanger off the rail. It was a three-piece, too. I checked the size: 34 leg - Dan's size - and a 40R jacket: too small for me, for sure, but might it fit him. He tried the jacket. It fit perfectly.

And so off we went to the changing rooms where Dan tried it on. The whole suit was a perfect fit! (Which was lucky; there were no other sizes.) So we found a shirt, too, and added that to the ensemble. It all looked amazing. Dan liked it, as well, although he had one reservation: "Shouldn't we look at some others before we buy this one?". Conscientious fellow!

I must admit, it did seem a bit easy and there was no denying that we had not been particularity thorough in exploring all or, indeed, any other options. But he looked so great in it that I took a gamble. "We'll buy this, anyway, but still go and see if there's anything else you like." And indeed we did dutifully try a few other shops but there was nothing that even came close. 

I had been convinced, anyway, but now Dan was reassured, so we retired to Wings and Beer on Cannon Street, which is a cracking little bar that does excellent food. (My photo today is of their staircase.) My lime and soda, and hot dog were made all the better by the relief I was feeling at our easy success.

When we got home, Dan wanted to show his mum his outfit, so he got changed, borrowed a tie of mine, and we drove to her house. My extras are Dan on the drive before we set off and in the car after he'd shown her (as this photo shows of the colour and pattern best). And the icing on the cake was that his mum liked it, too; I was worried she might have preferred something a little more conservative. 

****
-11.6 kgs
Reading: 'Pauline Boty: Pop Artist And Woman' by Sue Tate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.