mef13

By mef13

Dispensing with Sunday Roast

As traditional as roast on Sunday may be, there are times when I will avoid it. Even more so in the height of summer and today was one of those days.
So although it was the second time during the past few days, something much lighter seemed more appealing - hence my choice of sweet and sour chicken and rice. Always a favourite, and very quick to prepare; in effect the length of time it takes to cook the rice - 12 minutes.
I can always enjoy a barbecue, but to my mind you need a crowd of neighbours or friends to enjoy it as a social occasion.
But my slices of chicken, fried on a bed of rice, peas, broad beans, chopped onion and mushroom, all topped with a sweet and sour sauce with pineapple, is quick and easy, and even better we are not faced with the prospect of roast joint leftovers for the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.